SACS Leadership Awards 2014

22 September 2014

Professor Sarah Joseph
Professor Sarah Joseph

Recently, Leadership Victoria participated in the annual SACS Leadership Awards.

Held in the Grand Ballroom of the Sofitel in Melbourne on 28 August, leaders from across government, business and community sectors celebrated Victoria's best leaders for 2014.

Leadership Victoria provided a $500 gift voucher to each leadership award winner, in addition to SACS Consulting's $7500 leadership development prizes.

The winners

Non-Executive Not for Profit

Andrew Ward, Manager, YMCA Docklands, YMCA Victoria

Executive Not for Profit

Professor Sarah Joseph, Director, Castan Centre for Human Rights Law

Non-Executive State Government and Statutory Authorities

Irais Medecigo, Manager of Financial Analytics and Systems, Goulburn-Murray Water

Executive State Government and Statutory Authorities

Professor Christina Mitchell, Dean of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences, Monash University

Non-Executive Local Government

Wendy Castles, Executive Officer Community Services, Whittlesea City Council

Executive Local Government

Andrew Fuaux, Manager Statutory Planning, Maroondah City Council


The Finalists


Non-Executive Not for Profit

Jarrod Reid, Assistant Human Resources Manager, The Salvation Army Salvos Stores  

Executive Not for Profit

DJ (Jamie) Cooper, Director, Monash University

Jan Horsnell, Chief Executive Officer, Southern Cross Care (Vic)  

Non-Executive State Government and Statutory Authorities

Julie Ferrara, Team Leader, State Trustees Limited  

Executive State Government and Statutory Authorities

Adjunct Professor David Plunkett, Executive Director Acute Health and Chief Nursing / Midwifery Officer, Eastern Health

Deborah Stuart, Acting General Manager, Monash Health Community, Monash Health  

Non-Executive Local Government

Chris Bradbury, Senior Human Resources, Hume City Council

Michele Watson, Coordinator Home Care Services, Yarra City Council  

Executive Local Government John Monaghan, Manager Infrastructure Planning, Hume City Council

Kathy Parton, Manager Community Wellbeing, Knox City Council


Judging panels

State Government and Statutory Authorities award panel 

Sandy Guest, Alumni, Leadership Victoria (WCLP 05)

Susanne Grosser, Mentor, Leadership Victoria

John Brennan, General Manager, Strategy, Innovation and Transformation, State Trustees

Rob Cairns, Principal, Real-time Consulting P/L

Local Government award panel

Jed Macartney, Chief Executive Officer, Independent Disability Services

Melva Ryan, Alumni, Leadership Victoria

Fiona Prestedge, Executive Director, Human Resources, Monash Health

Tony DeFazio, Manager, Civic Services, Whitehorse City Council 


Not for Profit award panel

Jillian De Araugo, Executive Officer, Royal Society of Victoria

Peter Turner, CEO, Independence Australia

Gordon Hollonds, Alumni, Leadership Victoria 

Mary Burgess, Principal Consultant, Service Quality Australia